#Cheap #auto #insurance #in #michigan
When shopping, be sure to get as many quotes for cheap insurance Michigan agents can offer you. This can help save you a lot of money. Especially because Michigan’s auto insurance premiums are quite a bit higher than the national average, with an average annual rate that tops $2,000. This is partly due to the rising percentage of uninsured drivers (around 20% of Michigan drivers do not carry proper insurance), as well as higher injury costs.
Michigan residents pay the highest percentage of their household income on car insurance premiums – up to a staggering 8 percent.
Michigan is a no-fault state, meaning each driver is required to carry personal injury protection to cover injuries, regardless of which driver is at fault. Policies are required to have Michigan-specific no-fault policies; out-of-state policies are not accepted. Because of the increased personal liability, it is highly recommended that most Michigan drivers carry extra liability insurance.
The penalties for not carrying current auto insurance can be up to $200, and higher insurance rates for at least 6 months (some carriers will even deny you coverage if you can t show a history of valid auto insurance).
Most motor vehicle issues are handled by Michigan’s Secretary of the State. Their website may be found here. A branch office locator searchable by zip code, city or county may be found here.
Vehicle registrations are handled by Michigan’s Office of the Secretary of State. Their website may be found here. A branch office locator searchable by zip code, city or county may be found here.
Because DUI statistics have a major impact on insurance rates, we usually include these statistics to better inform our customers. In Michigan there were 35,748 DUI arrests in 2012, with 259 drunk driving fatalities (representing 28% of total traffic deaths). According to MADD, this cost taxpayers a total of $1.3 billion in subsidies. Legislation is currently being pushed to require ignition interlock devices for all drivers convicted of a DUI, which is projected to drastically reduce DUI rates in the sate.
Current penalties for first-time offenses include up to 93 days in jail, fines up to $500, and a license suspension of up to 6 months. For more information on DUI law in Michigan, head here.
Michigan is one of the most expensive states for auto insurance. For this reason, we recommend having an agent look over your policy at least twice a year. Because insurance rates are constantly fluctuation, it is a good idea to review them periodically, as other companies may offer lower rates at different times. If you are shopping for insurance, or want some professional help, give us a call. A live agent can look over your policy and guide you through the process, ensuring that you are paying the lowest price available.